Several Jamaicans Get Fulbright Scholarships


CaribWorldNews, KINGSTON, Jamaica, Weds. July 22, 2009: Thirteen Jamaicans are among the 2009 Fulbright scholarship recipients.

The U.S Embassy in Jamaica will today introduce the three Fulbright Graduate Student Program grantees, four Fulbright/LASPAU Faculty Development Program grantees, two Humphrey Fellows, and four Fulbright Research Scholars at a Kingston press conference. 

The scholarships are sponsored by the U.S. Department of State`s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs and administered by the Public Affairs Section at the United States Embassy in Kingston. 

The Fulbright Graduate Student Program enables qualified Jamaicans to pursue Master`s or Ph.D. programs with two years of Fulbright funding.

This year`s awardees are Jhodi-Ann Bowie, Research Assistant, The Early Childhood Commission; Patrena Hodgars, Site Engineer, Hue Lyew Chin Engineering Ltd., and Julaine Rigg, Part time Lecturer in Tourism Management, Montego Bay Community College.

The Fulbright/LASPAU Faculty Development Program enables lecturers at tertiary institutions to pursue master`s or Ph.D. programs with two years of full funding (LASPAU = Latin American Scholarship Program of American Universities).

The recipients for 2009 are Andrew Gordon, a lecturer in Computer and Information Sciences, University of Technology, Jamaica; Suzette Kelly, a lecturer in Early Childhood Education, Shortwood Teachers College; Maureen Nelson, vice principal, Montego Bay Community College, and  Neckeisha Spencer, Assistant Lecturer in Economics, University of the West Indies, Mona.

The Humphrey Fellowship Program is a nine-month non-degree professional enrichment program at U.S. universities. The recipients for this year are David Geddes, Director, of the Consumer and Public Affairs, Office of Utilities Regulation and Robert Stennett, Director, International Department of the Bank of Jamaica.

The Fulbright Research Scholarships enables academics and professionals to conduct research at a US institution. This year`s recipients are: Margaret Brissett-Bolt, Behavior Change and Community Workstream Lead, Education Transformation Team, Ministry of Education; Pauline Nicholas, electronic reference librarian, Library, UWI, Mona of the West Indies; Dr. Asha Badaloo, senior lecturer, Tropical Metabolism Research Unit, UWI Mona (currently at Baylor College, Texas), and Dr. Arkene Levy, lecturer of Pharmacology, Department of Basic Medical Sciences, UWI, Mona and currently at the University of California, San Diego.

Next Post

Coast Guard Searches On For Missing Haitians

CaribWorldNews, PROVIDENCIALES, Turks and Caicos, Weds. July 29, 2009: U.S. Coast Guard officials were yesterday still searching the waters near the Turks and Caicos Islands for dozens of missing Haitians. The Haitians were on a small boat that ran aground and capsized in reef-studded waters off the near West Caicos […]